Wang, Fernandez crowned national champions
Olympic Winter Institute of Australia
September 8, 2008.

OWI scholarship holders Tina Wang and Nicholas Fernandez have been crowned national ladies' and men's figure skating champions after both placed second to New Zealand skaters at the national championships in August.

Wang topped the judges scores in the free program, scoring 70.43 points to edge New Zealander Allie Rout. by 0.12 of a point.

But the Kiwi had gone into the free program more than ten points ahead of Wang, winning the short program with 49.70 points to the Queenslander's 39.40. Rout totalled 120.01 points to Wang's 109.83, with third place going to New South Wales skater Jessica Kurzawski on 87.94 points.

Tristan Thode took the gold medal in the men's event with a total score of 113.13 points, with Fernandez earning 110.42 points and fellow NDW skater Mark Webster placing third on 106.07 points.

Danielle O'Brien and Gregory Merriman won the ice dancing title with 90.70 points from Maria and Evgeni Borounov, who scored 69.82 points.